Title: Th1rteen R3asons Why  Author: Jay Asher  Publisher: Penguin Group
Picture
Summary:
Clay Jensen was in love with a girl named Hannah Baker.  After Hannah's planned death, Clay just wants to forget about what happened between them and move on.  The one thing that's stopping him is a box of tapes recorded by Hannah.  There's no return address on the box and once Clay starts listening, he can't stop.  On the tapes, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she commited suicide; the people who recieve the tapes are one of those thirteen reasons.  Clay knows he did nothing wrong but listens anyway to the voice of the girl he loved.


Review:

Once I started reading this book, I couldn't stop.  I wanted to see what Hannah's thirteen reasons were and how Clay would respond to them.  The introduction definitely helped to grab my attention.  Even after reading the first sentence, I was hooked. 

Many of Hannah's reasons/stories were extremely realistic which made the book that much more intriguing.  With all the detail Mr. Asher presented chapter after chapter, I had a hard time not crying when Clay listened to the reason/story about himself. 

I'm glad that in the end, Clay realized that he should've done something to help Hannah before she did what she did.  Because he didn't, he felt as if it was his fault that she had died and didn't know how to confront the other people that were involved in Hannah's reasons/stories.  I honestly don't know what I would've done either. 

This novel was one of those that even though I read it already, I will purchase it so I can read it again and again.

Rating:
5 STARS

Recommendation:
Readers 13+

Photo Source:
http://photo.goodreads.com/

~Alexis~
delilah :)
8/13/2011 11:49:49 am

I want to read this book now.!

Reply
Kayleigh
8/31/2011 04:17:52 am

I love this book! You know what i thought was cool? How the number 13 was worked into the title! How cool was that??

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.